On November 30, 1997 Underoath formed with Dallas Taylor, and guitarist Luke Morton, in Florida in Ocala, Florida.  Morton devised the name Underoath “from somewhere in the Bible.” Drummer Aaron Gillespie, who attended Morton’s Church, was then asked to play with them. Gillespie agreed, and the group recruited guitarist Corey Steger and bassist Octavio Fernandez; the band members were all in high school.

After a year of playing at festivals, eating in Buffets, and touring the area around Florida, Underoath signed to Alabama’s Takehold Records in 1999. Around this time Luke Morton had left the band without appearing on any of their formal recordings. They released their debut Act of Depression, which sold over 2,000 copies.

Underoath is an metalcore band from Tampa, Florida. Founded by Dallas Taylor and Mark Morton on November 30, 1997 in Ocala, Florida, subsequently its additional members were from Tampa, Florida.  The band consists entirely of Christian members. They are currently signed with Solid State Records, a subsidiary of Tooth and Nail Records, and are the label’s most popular group.

After several line-up changes, Underoath’s only original member is drummer Aaron Gillespie. With original vocalist Dallas Taylor, they released Act of Depression, Cries of the Past, and The Changing of Times. Following his departure, Spencer Chamberlain became lead vocalist. The band then released They’re Only Chasing Safety and Define the Great Line, gaining a certified gold rating and the highest-charting Christian album on The Billboard 200 since 1997 respectively. These two albums have given them more mainstream and commercial success.

They have received two Grammy nominations in 2007 and 2010 respectively and have recorded a live CD/DVD box set entitled Survive, Kaleidoscope, which was released on May 27, 2008. From late February to early May the band recorded their latest studio album entitled Lost in the Sound of Separation, which was released on September 2, 2008, and peaked at number 8 on the Billboard 200.

Current members
  • Spencer Chamberlain – lead vocals, additional guitars (since 2003)
  • Timothy McTague – lead guitar, backing vocals (since 2001), additional guitar (since 2001)
  • Grant Brandell – bass guitar (since 2002)
  • James Smith – rhythm guitar (since 2003)
  • Christopher Dudley – keyboards, synthesizers, samplers (since 2000)
  • Aaron Gillespie – clean vocals, drums (since 1997)


  • Act of Depression (1999)
  • Cries of the Past (2000)
  • The Changing of Times (2002)
  • They’re Only Chasing Safety (2004)
  • Define the Great Line (2006)
  • Lost in the Sound of Separation (2008)

Leave a Reply