Selah is a Christian group that has been featured on The 700 Club, The Hour of Power, and TBN. The original 3-person line up consisted of Nicol Sponberg, Allan Hall, and Todd Smith. Their success came quick when they released their first album, Be Still My Soul, in 1999, and they won a Dove Award for that album soon afterwards. They quickly earned a reputation for being able to reveal the heart of any song they recorded[1] , doing well-known covers of already-famous songs such as “You Raise Me Up” by Secret Garden and “Bless the Broken Road” by Rascal Flatts

In 2004, Nicol Sponberg left the group, and was replaced by Amy Perry.

Sponberg released her solo debut, Resurrection, that same year on Curb Records; the single “Crazy In Love” crossed over to the secular Adult Contemporary charts while songs like “Safe” continued to earn her airplay on Christian radio.

Dove Awards

They have won the following Dove Awards:

  • 2007 – Inspirational Album of the Year (Bless The Broken Road)
  • 2005 – Inspirational Album of the Year (Hiding Place)
  • 2002 – Inspirational Album of the Year (Press On)
  • 2002 – Traditional Recorded Gospel Song (Hold On)
  • 2000 – Inspirational Album of the Year (Be Still My Soul)


  • Be Still My Soul (1999)
  • Press On (2001)
  • Rose of Bethlehem (2002)
  • Hiding Place (2004)
  • Greatest Hymns (2005)
  • Bless the Broken Road – The Duets Album (2006)
  • Timeless: The Selah Collection (2007)
  • You Deliver Me (2009)

Leave a Reply