Relient K

Relient K /rɨˈlaɪ.ənt ˈkeɪ/ is an Christian rock band formed in Canton, Ohio in 1998 by Matt Thiessen on vocals, guitar and piano, Brian Pittman on bass, and Matt Hoopes on guitar between the band’s junior year in high school and their time at Malone College in Canton. The band is named after guitarist Hoopes’ automobile, a Plymouth Reliant K car, with the spelling intentionally altered to avoid trademark infringement over the Reliant name.

The group is associated with the Contemporary Christian Music culture, most notably the Christian rock and Christian punk scene. Despite being a Christian band the group has performed alongside secular artists. The band has reached critical success with mainstream pop punk and alternative rock. The band’s sound incorporates piano and acoustic elements; and the lyrical content often refers to God, Jesus, and the terms “You” and “Him” are used in reference to God. Since its formation, Relient K has released six studio albums, seven EPs, two Christmas albums, and one collection of rarities. The band has received numerous awards including a Grammy Award nomination in 2003 for Best Rock Gospel Album and two Dove Awards.

Relient K is best known commercially for their two studio albums which peaked in the top 15 of the US Billboard 200 chart. After signing with Capitol Records, they broke into the mainstream in 2004 with the release of Mmhmm, which debuted at #15 on the Billboard 200. In 2007, their fifth album brought the most success for Relient K, Five Score and Seven Years Ago debuted at #6 on the US Billboard 200 and sold 60,000 records in its debut week. The band has sold over 2 million records, with three albums being given gold certification by the RIAA. The band is also highly successful throughout the Christian Albums and Contemporary Christian Music charts. Their newest album Forget and Not Slow Down was released on October 6, 2009.

Current members

  • Matt Thiessen – lead vocals, guitar, piano, (1998— )
  • Matt Hoopes – guitar, backing vocals (1998— )
  • John Warne – bass, backing vocals (2004— )
  • Jon Schneck – guitar, banjo, backing vocals (2005— )
  • Ethan Luck – drums (2008— )

Former members

  • Todd Frascone – drums (1998)
  • Stephen Cushman – drums, backing vocals (1998–2000)
  • Brian Pittman – bass (1998–2004)
  • Dave Douglas – drums, backing vocals (2000-2007)

Studio albums

  • Relient K (2000)
  • The Anatomy of the Tongue in Cheek (2001)
  • Two Lefts Don’t Make a Right…but Three Do (2003)
  • Mmhmm (2004)
  • Five Score and Seven Years Ago (2007)
  • Forget and Not Slow Down (2009)

Leave a Reply