Jeremy Camp

Jeremy Thomas Camp (born January 12, 1978) is a contemporary Christian musician from Lafayette, Indiana. Camp has released six albums, three of them RIAA-certified as Gold, and 17 number-one hit songs.   His original music is a mixture of ballads and rock.

Camp is also an ordained minister.

Jeremy Camp was born on January 12, 1978 in Lafayette, Indiana.   His father Tom is the pastor at Harvest Chapel, a Calvary Chapel church in Lafayette, and taught his son how to play guitar. After completing high school, Camp attended a bible college in Southern California for two years. He also has two brothers and a sister.

Musical career

Camp has scored fourteen #1 Christian music hits (six from his first album, Stay). His first single was “Understand”. He has made eight music videos: “Understand”, “Walk By Faith”, “Take You Back”, “Tonight” “Give You Glory”, “Let It Fade”, “I Am Willing”,a song which was not included on any of his albums and “Speaking Louder Than Before”. He has also released a DVD (In24) which chronicles a regular day on tour. Live Unplugged from Franklin, TN also includes a DVD of the concert, which was recorded for the live album. He also has scored a musical number “This Man” and his video can be seen on YouTube. This video was made with clips from the movie The Passion of the Christ.


  • Festival Con Dios 2002
  • The Stay Tour
  • The Adoration Tour (long timers refer to this as the Kidnapped by the Australians Tours)
  • The Restored Tour
  • The Live Unplugged Tour (with Mainstay)
  • The Beyond Measure Tour
  • The House of Blues Tour
  • Ichthus Festival 2006
  • Winter Jam
  • Congreso 2007
  • Boomin’ Beyond Measure Tour 2008 (with TobyMac)
  • Speaking Louder Than Before Tour w/ Natalie Grant and Bebo Norman
  • Rock & Worship Roadshow 2009

Studio albums

Year Album Title Billboard 200 Albums Chart Billboard Top Christian Albums Billboard Top Rock Albums Billboard Top Heatseekers Albums RIAA Certification
2002 Stay - 10 - 13 Gold
2004 Carried Me: The Worship Project 102 2 - 1 Gold
2004 Restored 45 1 17 - Gold
2006 Beyond Measure 29 1 12 - -
2008 Speaking Louder Than Before 38 1 11 - -

Live albums

Year Album Title Billboard 200 Albums Chart Billboard Top Albums RIAA Certification
2005 Live Unplugged 111 7 -2x Platinum

Other releases

Year Album Title Billboard 200 Albums Chart Billboard Top Albums RIAA Certification
2000 Burden Me - - -
2007 Live Session EP - - -


Compilation appearances

Year Song Title Album Title Notes
2002 “Understand” Festival Con Dios 2002, Vol. 2  
2003 “I Still Believe” WOW Hits 2004  
2004 “Here I Am To Worship” Empty Me, Vol. 1  
2004 “Empty Me” Empty Me, Vol. 1  
2004 “How Great Is Your Love” Maranatha Friends  
2004 “Right Here” WOW Hits 2005  
2005 “I Wait For The Lord” X Worship 2006  
2005 “Take You Back” WOW Hits 2006  
2005 “Open Up Your Eyes” Music Inspired by The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe  
2006 “This Man” WOW Hits 2007  
2007 “Empty Me” Worship Together: Favorites  
2007 “It Is Well” Music Inspired By the Motion Picture Amazing Grace Performed with Adie
2007 “Right Here” Music from and Inspired By Bridge to Terabithia  
2007 “What It Means” WOW Hits 2008  
2008 “Give You Glory” WOW Hits 1  
2008 “Let It Fade” WOW Hits 2009  
2009 “There Will Be a Day” WOW Hits 2010  


Year Title Peak Chart Positions Album
Hot Christian Songs Hot Christian AC
2002 “Understand” 1 2 Stay
“Right Here” 1 1
2003 “Walk By Faith” 1 1
“I Still Believe” 5 6
“Stay” 6 1
2004 “Empty Me” 14 10 Carried Me
“Oh Come All Ye Faithful” 6 6 Christmas Single
“Take You Back” 1 1 Restored
2005 “Lay Down My Pride” 12 9
2006 “This Man” 1 1
“Breathe” 1 30
“What It Means” 2 1 Beyond Measure
2007 “Tonight” 4 29
“Give You Glory” 4 1
“Let It Fade” 1 1
2008 “No Matter What It Takes” 21 47
“There Will Be A Day” 1 1 Speaking Louder Than Before
2009 “Speaking Louder Than Before” 16  


Preceded by
Paul Colman Trio
GMA’s New Artist of the Year
Succeeded by
Building 429
Preceded by
Michael W. Smith
GMA’s Male Vocalist of the Year
2004 – 2005
Succeeded by
Chris Tomlin
Preceded by
“Ammunition” from The Beautiful Letdown by Switchfoot
GMA’s Rock Recorded Song of the Year
“Stay” from Stay

Succeeded by
“Slam” from Welcome to Diverse City by tobyMac (featuring T-Bone)

Leave a Reply